NMIT Board

Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology Ltd is part of a national organisation of Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics under the control of a Board of Directors appointed from throughout Nelson and Marlborough.

From 1 April 2020, NMIT was one of New Zealand’s 16 Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics to be brought under the umbrella of the New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology (NZIST).  As a subsidiary limited liability company, NMIT formally became Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology Limited (NMIT Ltd).

Under the Education (Vocational Education and Training Reform) Amendment Act, the NZIST Establishment Board appointed eight Directors to the NMIT Ltd Board, with one Director being an NZIST Council member. There was also a requirement for half of the members to reside in the Te Tauihu region. All Directors are appointed through to 31 December 2022, or an earlier date as determined by the NZIST Council.

The Board of Directors is collectively responsible for the management of NMIT Ltd. Directors must ensure that the company is operated in a financially responsible manner, complies with its statutory obligations, supports NZIST in the performance of its functions and gives effect to the NZIST Charter.

NMIT Ltd Board Appointments

Daryl Wehner - Chair

An experienced Senior Executive and transformational leader with a proven track record of establishing strategy and implementing for results, Daryl is currently the Chief Financial Officer at Port Nelson Limited.

He also serves as Director of Trinity Lands Limited, is a member of the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and a member of the New Zealand Institute of Directors. Daryl is married to Andrea, and they have two adult children. Daryl’s interests include the gym, running and motorsport.

Tracy Johnston - Deputy Chair

Born and bred in Marlborough, Tracy is a qualified marketer and organisation manager with more than 25 years’ experience working in the tourism sector.  She worked for Tourism New Zealand overseas before returning to Marlborough spending eight years as General Manager of Destination Marlborough.

Tracy and her husband Kevin own Dayvinleigh Vineyard, and she is an elected grape-grower representative on the Board of Marlborough Winegrowers. She is a member of the Institute of Directors and has served on the Council of Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology as a Government Appointee and on several not-for-profit Trusts over the past 10 years.

Judene Edgar

Judene is Deputy Mayor of Nelson City Council, Chairperson of the Nelson Tasman Regional Landfill Business Unit and Deputy Chairperson of the Regional Transport Committee.

She is a director of Encompass Strategic Services Limited, a consultancy specialising in strategic planning, governance advice, stakeholder engagement and fundraising, as well as a Trustee of Network Tasman Trust and Director of NTT Investments Ltd.

Judene was a councillor and chairperson at Tasman District Council from 2007 to 2016. Her governance experience includes Nelson Airport Ltd, the Fundraising Institute of New Zealand, Habitat for Humanity (Nelson) Ltd and Nelson Bays Primary Health.

Antonina (Toni) Grant

Toni is a Chartered Accountant, a member of the Institute of Directors and a Professional Director. She completed the Institute of Directors mentoring for diversity programme in 2017/18.

Her governance roles include a number of iwi/Māori Asset Holding Companies in Te Tauihu, with investments in the property and primary sectors, particularly forestry, fisheries and aquaculture. Toni chairs two Audit and Risk Sub-committees (Rata Foundation and Central Districts Cricket) and is a member of the Governance Steering Group for the proposed redevelopment of Port Tarakohe.

Charles Newton

Charles has extensive educational leadership experience as ex-Principal of Nayland College, as the Executive Director of the Nelson Marlborough Loop and, for the last decade, as an education consultant specialising in digital enablement and future-focused learning.

He has a proven track record leading successful collaborative initiatives and has contributed to a range of national educational policy and strategy development. Charles is completing his first term as member of NMIT’s Council where he is recognised as a knowledgeable and pragmatic thinker. He is a vocal advocate for greater system cohesion and the collaborative mindset required to future proof New Zealand’s vocational education.

Patrick Smith

Patrick (Te Ātiawa, Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō, Rangitane, Ngāi Tahu) has operated his own human resources consultancy since 2009 following 10 years as Sealord Group’s Human Resources Manager. He has a strong background in the primary sector and throughout his career has focused on initiatives that improve connections between education and industry.

His previous governance experience includes being President of the Nelson Tasman Chamber of Commerce during a seven-year board term and nine years as a ministerial appointee to the Nelson Marlborough District Health Board.

Joanie Wilson

Joanie (Ngāti Toa Rangatira, Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Koata, Ngāti Tama, Ngāti Rārua, Te Atiawa, Ngāti Tūwharetoa) is the mother of two beautiful rangatahi, born in Nelson where she currently resides.  She has a teaching background with experience in the health sector, Māori education leadership and iwi development.  She is the Strategic Advisor Māori for the Ministry of Education and currently serves on the Ngāti Koata Trust board as the Iwi Chair. Joanie is also a member on the Te Tau Ihu Intergenerational Strategy Steering Committee.

Kathy Grant

Kathy is the NZIST Board appointment to NMIT Limited.  She was formerly an Associate in the Dunedin legal practice of Gallaway Cook Allan and has been a Ministerial appointee and Chair of the Otago Polytechnic Council since 2010. Kathy was previously a member of the University of Otago Council and Chair of the Dunedin College of Education. She is also a deputy chair of Dunedin City Holdings Limited and Dunedin City Treasury Limited. In 2015, the Minister of Health appointed Kathy as Commissioner of the Southern District Health Board following the disestablishment of the DHB.


In this section

Close drawer